Gov. Perry Appoints Baker to the 295th Judicial District Court

December 14, 2009

AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry has appointed Caroline Baker of Houston to the 295th District Court of Harris
County for a term to expire at the next general election.

Baker is a former judge of the 151st Civil District Court in Harris County, a position she held for twelve
years. She is a member of the State Bar of Texas, Houston Bar Association, American Bar Association,
Texas Association of District Judges, Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism, National
Association of Women Judges, and Association of Women Attorneys. She is past president of the Texas
Association of Civil Trial and Appellate Specialists, a fellow of the Texas and Houston Bar foundations,
chair of Leadership Houston, and a member and past chair of Girls Incorporated of Greater Houston.
She is a board member of the Daniel and Edith Ripley Foundation and Chinquapin School Advisory
Board, and a senior fellow of the American Leadership Forum. Baker received a bachelor’s degree from
Princeton University and law degree from the University of Texas School of Law.
Hon. Caroline E. Baker (Republican)
Appointed Judge of the 295th District Court
Former 151st District Court Judge in Harris County, Texas
Houston Opinions
Houston Courts and Cases
Harris County Civil Courts and
Judges (Non-family)
Harris County Civil Courthouse - Houston TX 77002

Harris County District Court Judges

11th  Judge Mike Miller (2009)
11th  Judge Mark Davidson (former)  
Judge Dion Ramos (elected 2008)
55th  Judge Jeff Shadwick (former)
55th  Judge Jeff Brown (former)
61st  Judge Al Bennet (2009)
61st  Judge John Donovan (former)
80th  Judge Larry Weiman (2009)
80th  Judge Lynn Bradshaw-Hull (former)
113th  Judge Patricia Hancock
125th  Judge Kyle Carter (2009)
125th  Judge John Coselli (former)
127th  Judge R. K. Sandill (2009)
127th  Judge Sharolyn Wood (former)
129th  Judge Michael Gomez (2009)
129th  Judge Grant Dorfman (former)
133th  Judge Jaclanel McFarland (2009)
133th  Judge Lamar McCorkle (former)
151st   Judge Mike Engelhart (2009)
151st   Judge Caroline E. Baker (former)
152nd  Judge Robert Schaffer (2009)
152nd  Judge Kenneth Wise (former)
157th   Judge Randall Wilson
164th   Judge Alexandra Smoots-Hogan (2009)
164th   Judge Martha Hill Jamison (former)
165th   Judge Josefina Muniz Rendon (2009)
165th   Judge Elizabeth Ray (former)
189th   Judge Bill Burke
190th   Judge Patricia Kerrigan (reelected '08)
190th   Hon. Jennifer W. Elrod (now on 5th Cir)
Judge Steven E. Kirkland (2009)
215th   Judge Levi Benton (former)
234th   Judge Reece Rondon
269th   Judge Dan Hinde (appointed 2008)
269th   John T. Wooldridge (resigned 2008)
270th   Judge Brent Gamble
280th   Judge Tony Lindsay
281st   Judge Sylvia Matthews (appt'd 2008)
281st   Judge David J. Bernal (resigned 2008)
295th  Hon. Caroline Baker (appointed Dec.'09)
295th  Judge Tracy E. Christopher (former)
333rd  Judge Joseph James "Tad" Halbach Jr.
334th  Judge Sharon McCally (reelected 2008)
Hon. Carline Baker, District Court Judge in Harris County, TX
For contact Information including telephone numbers and address
for this court and photo of presiding judge,
Hon. Caroline Baker,
go to --->
Official web page for the 295th District Court of
Harris County | Mini-bio of appointed judge Caroline Baker,
judge of the 151st District Court |    
Predecessor on this bench,
Hon. Tracy Christopher was appointed
to succeed Justice
Eva Guzman on the Fourteenth Court of
Appeals after Governor Rick Perry promoted Guzman to a
vacancy on the Texas Supreme Court created by the resignation
Scott Brister.